At this historical juncture, the members of the Evangelical family of MECC realized that they needed to preserve a forum wherein they can continue to experience inter-evangelical fellowship and unity. Thus it was that in that same year, 1974, the first General Assembly of the “Fellowship of Middle East Evangelical Churches – FMEEC” was held. Since 1975, FMEEC has held five more General Assemblies (1977, 1991, 1997, 2004 and 2010).

Current membership

The Diocese of the Episcopal Church in Egypt and North Africa
The Diocese of the Episcopal Church in Iran
The Diocese of the Episcopal Church in Jerusalem
The Diocese of the Episcopal Church in Cyprus and the Gulf
The Episcopal Church in the Sudan
The Protestant Church in Algeria
The Council of the Protestant Churches in Iraq
The Evangelical Church in Egypt
The Evangelical Presbyterian Synod of the Sudan
The Evangelical Presbyterian Church in Iran
The Evangelical Lutheran Church in Jordan and the Holy Land
The National Evangelical Church in Kuwait
The National Evangelical Synod in Syria and Lebanon
The National Evangelical Union in Lebanon
The Methodist Church in Tunisia
The Presbyterian Church in Sudan


Current FMEEC’s

          Executive Committee:

Rev. Dr. Andrea Zaki (president)
Rev. Dr. Habib Badr (vice president)
Bishop Munib Younan
Rev. Megrdich Karagoezian
Rev. Adeeb Awad
Rev. Dr. Helmy Kades
Rev. Fadi Dagher